New names added for Aegon Ilkley Trophy

Smashing international men’s line for Aegon Ilkley Trophy
Previous  Next
 British player 
  • New names added for Aegon Ilkley Trophy

    11 – 19 June 2016

    Ilkley Lawn Tennis and Squash Club


    Ilkley Lawn Tennis and Squash Club (ILTSC) welcomed players from around the world at a buzzing registration session for the men’s side of the tournament this evening, Friday 10 June.

    The Ilkley draw already includes two semi-finalists in the current Aegon Surbiton Trophy – Australian Jordan Thompson (no. 90) who has just beaten Manchester Aegon Trophy winner Dustin Brown (GER. No/ 86) and Yen-Hsun Lu,(Taipei, No. 97).  Joining them on Ilkley’s grass courts will be a strong British contingent of players: Australian born Brydan Klein (no. 204); Stockport’s Liam Broady (no. 238); Lloyd Glasspool runner up in doubles at the Drummondville Challenger event, Canada in March 2016 (no. 245) and Keighley born ScotJonny O’Mara (no. 574).

    Tournament Director and Club Manager Charlie Maunder commented: “It’s going to be fantastic to see the next generation of British players on our courts over the next week, fresh from successes at other tournaments over the last few weeks. The high level of all those taking part means that we are looking forward to a week packed with stunning tennis.”

    The additions to the women’s draw will be decided tomorrow, Saturday 11 June.

    Aegon Ilkley Trophy men’s main draw:

    ·         Mirza Basic (Bosnia, No. 130)

    ·         Marco Chiudinelli (Switzerland, No. 131)

    ·         Jared Donaldson (USA, No. 140)

    ·         Matthew Ebden (Australia, No. 135)

    ·         Alejandro Falla (Columbia, No. 158)

    ·         Bjorn Fratangelo (USA, No. 103)

    ·         Quentin Halys (France, No. 154)

    ·         Ryan Harrison (USA, No. 147)

    ·         Austin Krajicek (USA, No. 134)

    ·         Yen-Hsun Lu (Taipei, No. 95)

    ·         Vincent Millot (France, No. 144)

    ·         Dennis Novikov (USA, No. 146)

    ·         Renzo Olivio (Argentina, No. 145)

    ·         Alexander Sarkissian (USA, No. 157)

    ·         Igor Sijsling (Netherlands, No. 123)

    ·         John-Patrick Smith (Australia, No. 151)

    ·         Tim Smyczek (USA, No. 121)

    ·         Go Soeda (Japan, No. 150)

    ·         Eduardo Struvay (Columbia, No. 163)

    ·         Jordan Thompson (Australia, No. 94)

    ·         Di Wu (China, No. 148)

    ·         Grega Zemlja (Slovenia, No. 152)


    Aegon Ilkley Trophy 2015:

    Last year’s singles winners Denis Kudla and Anna-Lena Friedsam have both gone from being just outside the top 100 players in the world, to currently being ranked 53 and 48 respectively.

    ·         Men’s singles: Denis Kudla

    ·         Ladies singles: Anna-Lena Friedsam

    ·         Men’s doubles: Marcus Daniell & Marcelo Demoliner

    ·         Ladies doubles: Raluca Olaru & Yi-Fan Xu



Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: