A Guide To Grand Slam Tennis Tournaments

Grand Slam tennis tournaments run throughout the year from mid-January through to September and consist of four tournaments that take place around the world. They feature the world’s best tennis players and with the court surface varying between the majority of the tournaments, some players are more suited to some than others.

All four majors are extremely popular with tennis fans and attract millions of pounds worth of bets every year. You can Bet on Tennis with BetVictor and several other online bookmakers who all cover each of the Grand Slams as well as tennis matches in other tournaments throughout the year.

Australian Open

The Australian Open was founded in 1905 and is the first of the four Gland Slams of year, taking place over the final two weeks of January. The tournament has been held at Melbourne Park since 1988 and previously at several locations including in Adelaide, Brisbane, Sydney, Perth and twice in New Zealand. 

Matches are played on hard court surfaces, although, they were played on grass prior to 1988. The hard courts mean that the ball bounces higher than on other surfaces and it’s much faster compared to clay which is used at the French Open. 

The current men’s Australian Open champion is Novak Djokovic who has also won the tournament more times than any other player in his category, lifting the trophy a total of nine times to date and for the last three consecutive years.

Japan’s Naomi Osaka is the reigning women’s champion, winning her second Australian Open championship in 2021. Australian Margaret Smith Court holds the most titles (11) with Serena Williams having won the most within the Open era.

French Open

The French Open is the second Grand Slam of the year and takes place over two weeks at the Stade Roland-Garros in Paris towards the end of May.

The tournament is the only one of the four majors to be played on a clay surface which is a relatively slow surface making the ball easier to return.

Spanish player Rafael Nadal has dominated the game on clay courts since early 2000 and has won the tournament a total of 13 times in the past 17 years. 

However, Nadal was knocked out of the 2021 French Open by the eventual winner, Novak Djokovic in four sets in the semi-final. Despite winning a total of 20 Grand Slams to date, it was to be Djokovic’s only second victory at the French Open.


Wimbledon, also known as The Championships, is considered to be one of the most prestigious tennis tournaments in the world and has been running since 1877. The tournament is held in Wimbledon at the All England Club and is the only one of the Grand Slams that is played on grass courts.

The English event takes place over two weeks at the beginning of July each year but was played at the end of June prior to 2015.

Several celebrities along with Royal family members can often be spotted in the seats of centre court at Wimbledon. Other features which add to the prestige of the event include players having to adhere to a strict dress code of all-white throughout the tournament, the tournament being sponsored by Rolex and the tradition of strawberries and cream being available to spectators.

Fan-favourite Roger Federer has won the men’s singles title at Wimbledon a total of 8 times; more than any other player in history and two more than the current champion Novak Djokovic. Martina Navratilova tops the table of the ladies singles championships having won the tournament no less than nine times with the most recent being in 1990. Australian Ashleigh Barty is the current champion with the 25-year-old winning her first-ever Wimbledon title in the summer of 2021.

US Open

Similar to the Australian Open, the US Open is played on hard courts. It’s the last of the four major tennis tournaments to take place in the year and is held at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in New York over two weeks from the last Monday in August.

Despite Novak Djokovic dominating the hard court surface game at the Australian Open, the Serbian has only won the US Open three times. Pete Sampras, Jimmy Connors and Roger Federer have each won the tournament a total of five times throughout the Open era, although, Bill Tilden, William Larned and Richard Sears have each claimed seven titles during the amateur era. 

Austrian player Dominic Thiem is the current men’s singles champion and won his first-ever Grand Slam at the US Open in 2020.

Similar to her success in the Australian Open, Naomi Osaka is the current ladies singles champion, picking up her second title in 2020. 

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: