Women’s draw for Aegon Ilkley Trophy

A winning women’s draw for Aegon Ilkley Trophy

The ladies draw has been made for the Aegon Ilkley Trophy.  Thirteen of the elite ladies ranked inside the worlds top 100 will be battling for the Aegon Ilkley Trophy. The highest ranked lady will be Oceane Dodin and Viktorija Golubic ranked at 56 and 65 place respectively.

The main draw for the tournament, which begins with qualifying rounds on 17 June, features 22 players from across the globe ranked between 56 and 113 by the WTA (Women’s Tennis Association), making 2017 the year with the most highly ranked players in the three-year history of the event.

A former member of the Belgian Davis Cup and Olympic team, Yanina Wickmayer (#69) comes to Ilkley for the first time this year, as does former world #9 Andrea Petkovic (#79, Germany).

2016 Aegon Ilkley Trophy singles champion Evgeniya Rodina (Russia, #80) will be back with her eye on retaining her title with France’s Pauline Parmentier (#81) also returning after her first visit in the tournament’s debut year, 2015.

Charlie Maunder, Club Manager at ILTSC commented: “”It’s fantastic to see that in just three years since the tournament came to Ilkley, we are now attracting such an incredible line up of women to the club. The increase in prize money available helps to put our tournament high on the agenda for those keen to practise their grass court skills in the run up to Wimbledon, offering Ilkley audiences an exceptional opportunity to see players who are pushing their way up the international rankings and we look forward to welcoming them all.”

For the first time this year, the women entrants will compete for a larger prize fund, $100,000 – more than double the previous Ilkley championships. The winner also receives a wildcard entry to play at the only Grand Slam tournament played on grass in the world, Wimbledon.

Tickets can be purchased online here



Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: